Kamera

Introduction

The postcards shown here are part of the artistic project "The pictures are coming back", which is dedicated to the representation and visibility of the former and present synagogues of Ústí nad Labem, Dresden, Görlitz, Teplice and Děčín.

The starting point was research on former Jewish cemeteries in the city of Ústí nad Labem in Czech Republic. I noticed that the former synagogue of Ústí nad Labem hardly ever appears as a pictorial motif on postcards and photographs. In addition, the synagogue was not designated on the cards. Therefore, I began to search specifically for postcards of the synagogue as a solitary image motif or in views of the city. At the same time, I collected material from the German cities of Dresden and Görlitz and the Czech cities of Teplice and Děčín from 2022 onwards. The focus of my interest was the question of the presence of the synagogue as a pictorial motif as well as how it was dealt with, was it shown, cropped or covered.

The present postcards, which were created between 1897 and 2017, are an excerpt from the collection. They are sorted according to cities, individual motifs and perspectives. They are further classified according to the postmark and the handwritten date on the cards. Cards without a postmark or dating were sorted according to existing dated postcards.

Kamera

Ausgangspunkt

Die hier gezeigten Postkarten sind Teil des künstlerischen Projektes "Die Bilder kommen zurück", das sich der Darstellung und Sichtbarkeit der ehemaligen und heutigen Synagogen von Ústí nad Labem, Děčín, Dresden, Görlitz und Teplice widmet.

Ausgangspunkt waren Recherchen zu ehemaligen jüdischen Friedhöfen der Stadt Ústí nad Labem in der Tschechischen Republik. Dabei ist mir aufgefallen, dass die ehemalige Synagoge von Ústí nad Labem als Bildmotiv auf Postkarten und Fotografien kaum vorkommt und auf den Karten nicht bezeichnet wird. Daher habe ich begonnen, gezielt nach Postkarten der Synagoge als solitäres Bildmotiv oder in Ansichten der Stadt zu suchen. Parallel habe ich ab 2022 vergleichsweise Material aus Dresden und Görlitz sowie den tschechischen Städten Teplice und Děčín gesammelt. Im Zentrum meines Interesses stand die Frage des Vorhandenseins der jeweiligen Synagoge als Bildmotiv sowie des Umgangs damit, das heißt, ob es gezeigt, beschnitten oder überdeckt wurde.

Die vorliegenden Karten, die in der Zeit zwischen 1897 und 2017 entstanden sind, bilden einen Auszug aus der Sammlung. Sie sind nach Städten, Einzelmotiven und Perspektiven sortiert. Die weitere Unterordnung erfolgt nach dem Poststempel sowie nachgeordnet gemäß der handschriftlichen Datierung auf den Karten. Karten ohne Poststempel oder Datierung wurden anhand vorliegender datierter Postkarten einsortiert.